The book

The library is one of the seven wonders of sustainability and thus also the book (Alan Durning). Thus, the book, the good old book, is the sustainability core of the entire project. It is at the end of the value chain and, as it were, at the centre of attention. The book is a carrier of knowledge, stories and history, ideas and thoughts. It can be read over and over again, comparable to renewable energy. The libraries provide access to the book and then it only has to be read or read aloud. The book needs no energy except the energy to read – and of course to write. We have taken up another aspect of sustainability in the project: the free, decentralised distribution of books under civil society responsibility and the protection of books from disposal. In the street library on the corner, the book remains visible and part of collective consciousness. By exchanging the books in an uncomplicated way, an age-old basic principle of sustainability becomes apparent: simplicity. The theoretical concept of a new economy of sharing becomes tangible and transferable to other areas of life and the economy.

With the growth of electronic media, the emergence of e-books and the loss of reading skills, the book is coming under cultural and economic pressure, although around 60 thousand new publications come onto the market every year. At the same time, classic, consulting-intensive bookstores are disappearing in favor of Amazon, city libraries and bookbusses have to fight for their survival.

The FAZ spoke of a “crisis of reading” in 2017. Young people in particular are growing up more and more without books, for them literature no longer plays a formative role. Whoever is to blame for this dilemma, literature and literary heritage no longer seem to play a role in the interpretation of individual life experiences and social developments.

At the same time, we are witnessing the phenomenon of a growing flood of old books: children do not know what to do with their parents’ books and libraries. In many cases, these books end up in disposal when housing is dissolved. The BücherboXXen therefore also fulfil a function of redistribution and protection of the books from destruction.

In the project “Nachhaltige BücherboXX” we now combine the book as the traditional and still most important cutlery carrier with “vocational training”. In his article “Cultural Education for Sustainable Development as a Cross-sectoral Task of Vocational Education and Training” Konrad Kutt explains the reasons for and challenges of this topic. In: Cultural Education. No. 09, 2012 (BKJ)

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Das Buch

Die Bibliothek ist eines der sieben Weltwunder der Nachhaltigkeit und damit auch das Buch (Alan Durning). Mithin ist das Buch, das gute alte Buch, der Nachhaltigkeitskern des gesamten Projekts. Es steht am Ende der Wertschöpfungskette und gleichsam im Mittelpunkt. Das Buch ist Träger von Wissen, Geschichten und Geschichte, Ideen und Gedanken. Es kann immer und wieder gelesen werden, vergleichbar einer erneuerbaren Energie. Den Zugang zum Buch verschaffen u. a. die Bibliotheken und dann muss es nur noch gelesen oder vorgelesen werden. Das Buch benötigt keine Energie, außer die Energie zu Lesen – und natürlich zum Schreiben. Einen weiteren Aspekt der Nachhaltigkeit haben wir in dem Projekt aufgegriffen: die kostenlose, dezentrale Weitergabe von Büchern in zivilgesellschaftlicher Verantwortung und die Bewahrung der Bücher vor der Entsorgung. In der Straßenbibliothek an der Ecke bleibt das Buch sichtbar und Teil des kollektiven Bewusstseins. Indem die Bücher unkompliziert getauscht werden wird ein uraltes Grundprinzip der Nachhaltigkeit erkennbar: die Einfachheit. Das theoretische Konzept einer neuen Ökonomie des Teilens wird erfahrbar und übertragbar auf andere Bereiche des Lebens und der Wirtschaft.

Mit dem Anwachsen der elektronischen Medien, dem Aufkommen von E-Books und dem Verlust an Lesekompetenz gerät das Buch kulturell und ökonomisch unter Druck, obwohl pro Jahr ca. 60 Tsd. Neuerscheinungen auf den Markt kommen. Gleichzeitig verschwinden klassische, beratungsintensive Buchhandlungen zugunsten von Amazon, Stadtbüchereien und Bücherbusse müssen um ihr überleben kämpfen.

Die FAZ hat 2017 von einer "Krise des Lesens" gesprochen. Vor allem junge Menschen wachsen immer mehr ohne Bücher auf, für sie spielt Literatur keine prägende Rolle mehr. Wer auch immer die Schuld an diesem Dilemma hat, die Literatur und das literarische Erbe spielen offenbar keine Rolle mehr für die Deutung individueller Lebenserfahrung und gesellschaftlicher Entwicklungen.

Zugleich verzeichnen wir in diesen Jahren das Phänomen einer wachsenden Alt-Bücherschwemme: Die Kinder wissen nicht wohin mit den Büchern und Bibliotheken ihrer Eltern. Vielfach landen diese Bücher bei Wohnugsauflösungen in der Entsorgung. Die BücherboXXen erfüllen mithin auch eine Funktion der Umverteilung und der Bewahrung der Bücher vor der Vernichtung.

In dem Projekt „Nachhaltige BücherboXX“ verbinden wir nun das Buch als den traditionellen und nach wie vor wichtigsten Kuturträger mit „Beruflicher Bildung“. Konrad Kutt erläutert in seinem Beitrag „Kulturelle Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung als Querschnittsaufgabe beruflicher Bildung“ Begründungen und Herausforderungen zu diesem Thema. In: Kulturelle Bildung. Nr. 09, 2012 (BKJ)